How To Stop iTunes From Asking For Your Username and Password

iTunes Username & Password

Does iTunes ask you to enter your username and password every time it opens? If not every time, does it happen frequently? Me too.

The Problem : Removing Safari Website Data

Safari has an option to “Reset” everything. You can find the under the Safari File menu and “Reset Safari”.

The last check box in the Reset Safari options is “Reset all website data.”

Reset Safari Menu

When you remove website data from Safari, you also delete your saved iTunes login and password. So you’ll have to login to iTunes every time you remove Safari data.

The Fix

Pretty simple: When you Reset Safari, don’t check the box next to “remove all website data” and you’ll stay logged into iTunes. Easy.

iTunes + Safari

Obviously, iTunes pulls all of its information from the web. That’s how it updates new albums, movies and apps – it grabs the latest info from Apple’s web servers and shows it to you – just like visiting a website.

iTunes shares data with Safari – or at the minimum, iTunes saves information (like your iTunes username & password) in the same location Safari uses when you login to a website, like Facebook.

That’s why when you clear data from Safari, it also deletes your iTunes login.

Why Remove Website Data from Safari?

Clearing the website data from Safari does a couple things;

  1. Clears all of your saved passwords for websites. If your Facebook password is saved and lets you login automatically, clear the Safari data to stop this. That way nobody can turn on your Mac and automatically login to your Facebook account.
  2. Clears all website data & history. When you visit any website, Safari automatically saves images and other design elements to your computer. It does this so the next time you visit the site, it will download faster. That’s great, but there are times I need to see how fast a website will download, and removing all the data makes sure I get an accurate speed test.
  3. Privacy. In addition to visual elements, Safari will save tracking data on your Mac. This data is used by websites to find out how often you visit a website, serve advertising based on your preferences, and a number of other reasons. Most of the time this data (aka “Cookies”) is harmless.

I tend to be a little more paranoid than necessary when it comes to surfing the internet. Chances are, you won’t need to clean the Safari data as often as I do – unless your extremely paranoid or a web developer… I’m a little of both :)

Written by
founded this website way back in 2007. Since then, he's owned two Macs, four iPods, two iPads, Apple TV, AirPort Extreme and 3 iPhones, is a huge nerd.